The Jurors of FILMFEST DRESDEN

Each year, FILMFEST DRESDEN appoints several independent juries which decide on the winners of the Golden Horsemen awards. Beside the International Jury and the National Jury these include the Jury Sound Design and two Youth Juries.
These are the jury members of 29th FILMFEST DRESDEN 2017:

International Jury 2017

Yasmeen Fanari

was born 1981 in Kuwait and is a creator of works in the field of visual production, illustration and animation. In 2004 she was awarded her Fine Arts Diploma from the Faculty of Fine Arts in Damascus University. In 2009 she continued her studies in animation at Kingston University London, where she gained an MA in Illustration and Animation in 2010. In September 2011 she left Syria permanently to live in France, where she is an associate of Hecat Studio, a special effects-animation boutique in Paris.


Denis Côté

was born 1973 in New Brunswick, Canada, produced and directed 15 independent short films while working as a journalist and film critic from 1995 until 2005. His first feature film LES ÉTATS NORDIQUES (DRIFTING STATES) from 2005 was awarded the Golden Leopard – Video at Locarno International Film Festival. Since then, Denis Côté's award-winning work has travelled extensively on the film festival circuit. VIC+FLO SAW A BEAR won the Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize at the 2013 Berlinale.


Peter van Hoof

is responsible for the short film programmes at the International Film Festival Rotterdam. In addition, he selects the features and documentaries from Sub-Saharan Africa. His background is that of an independent cinema programmer, initially at the Filmhuis Cavia squat cinema and as founder and programmer of Cinema De Balie – the independent cinema department of the political-cultural De Balie centre in Amsterdam. He is one of the founders of Stichting De Filmbank, an organisation that promotes Dutch experimental cinema. He is also the curator of the cinema programme and art section at the Into The Great Wide Open festival.


National Jury 2017

Lola Randl

was born in 1980 in Munich. She makes fictional films and documentaries, which either have a personal touch or an alert eye for social issues. The two seasons of her series LANDSCHWÄRMER (Are You Ready for the Country?) were set in her own flat or in a village in the rural Uckermark region – where that which is private is questioned anyway or at least kept under close observation. During her years of studying and training from 2001 to 2006 at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne and the Munich Screenplay Workshop, she already made several short films. She had her feature film debut at the 2008 Berlinale with DIE BESUCHERIN (The Visitor). An aside, in 2013 during the shooting of the fictional film DIE ERFINDUNG DER LIEBE (The Invention of Love), the main actress Maria Kwiatkowsky died. Randl then integrated this into the screenplay, mixing the real and the fictional yet again. Her fourth cinema-release feature film FÜHLEN SIE SICH MANCHMAL AUSGEBRANNT UND LEER? (Do You Sometimes Feel Burnt Out and Empty?) is due to be released in summer 2017.


Anna Wollner

was born 1983 in Bonn, first went to the movies when she was five, having always been attracted by the darkness of the cinema auditorium. Her family-related move from Bonn to Potsdam-Babelsberg – right next to the local film-studio dream factory – was as to be expected. At 15 she skipped school for the first time to go to the "Sehsüchte" International Student Film Festival, followed by her first internship in the film business at 17. During her studies of communications, media sciences and drama, she initially worked in an art-house cinema in Leipzig, followed by Mephisto 97.6, the university radio station of Leipzig University – in the film editorial department. She lives in Berlin and works as a freelance film critic.


Max Hattler

works primarily in the fields of abstract animation, video installations and audio-visual performances. His work explores relationships between abstraction and figuration, aesthetics and politics, sound and image, precision and improvisation. He holds a BA in Media and Communications from Goldsmiths and a MA in Animation from the Royal College of Art, as well as a Doctorate in Fine Art from the University of East London. His work has been presented at museums and galleries around the world, and he has won prizes at the Third Culture Film Festival and Bradford Animation Festival, as well as several Visual Music Awards. He has performed live around the world and been on the juries of more than 25 festivals. He is an Assistant Professor at the School of Creative Media at City University of Hong Kong.


Jury Sound Design 2017

Anna Scholz, aka Annamateur

born 1977 in Dresden, studied music but should have applied for graphic design or acting. Since 2003 she has toured German-language territories with her formation "Anna Mateur and the Beuys", winning the German Cabaret Award, the Salzburg Bull and the Bavarian Cabaret Prize, among others. She writes stage programmes, song texts and radio columns, drawing her stories live on sheets of film, as well as on skin, tables and walls. She has a passion for systems between order and chaos. In 2015 she published her first book "Wehwehchenatlas" (Atlas of Aches and Pains). When she is not out touring with her latest programme "Protocol of a Disco", she is living and going bonkers in the Valley of the Clueless.


Robert Seidel

lives in Berlin as an artist and curator. His projections, installations and experimental films have been shown at numerous international festivals, as well as in galleries and museums, such as the Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe, the Art Center Nabi Seoul, the Museum of Image and Sound São Paulo and the Museum of Contemporary Art Taipei. In his work, Seidel is interested in pushing the boundaries of abstracted beauty through cinematographic approaches, as well as through those drawn from science. To promote the possibilities offered by the experimental moving image, he has curated screenings and exhibitions for the Austrian Film Museum in Vienna, the House of Electronic Arts Basel, the Art Collection Jena and Kuenstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin.


Johannes Gerstengarbe und Frank Hellwig

together run the Ballroom Studios in Dresden, where music and video recordings, as well as photo shoots are produced. Their latest project here is the discussion format event, Ballroom Talk. Johannes Gerstengarbe studied in
Dresden and Nashville, and is a lecturer in arrangements and theory at the School of Music in Dresden. He plays the
guitar and has made a name for himself as a producer of music for short films, among other areas. Frank Hellwig
studied at the TU Technical University Dresden. He is the creative source behind various artistic, corporate, software
development and engineering projects. He is a musician who has also produced media art projects, and he has a deep interest in the electronic generation of sound, as well as in drawing and photography.


Youth Jury International Competition 2017

Janek Wuigk, 17

I can barely imagine a place where more youthful, new, and unique ideas can be found than at FILMFEST DRESDEN. The filmmakers with the courage, commitment and joy in what they do are role models for me. Since about my 8th grade I have been producing videos and films. I also use them when I support human rights, as I believe film has a power like no other medium. When compared to other media, films reach out to people in a truly unique way, and are the reason why my membership of the Youth Jury is so exciting and such an honour for me.


Raphael Kempe, 21

Each year in April, the days are full of intensive cultural and creative exchanges here in Dresden. With people coming to the city from the most varied parts of the world to inspire and encourage their creative language – short film – to entertain and provoke contemplation. As a great lover of cinematography and a friend of short film, I am absolutely delighted to be permitted to take part in these exchanges. And I am really excited about gaining new perspectives and at the same time being a member of the Youth Jury, where I also hope to contribute to a successful FILMFEST DRESDEN, which is such an immense enrichment to this city.


Lisa Tschöp-Mayer, 19

My enthusiasm for films already began several years ago. I loved to immerse myself in a different world and then think about the films afterwards – which is something I still do today. Right now, I am spending a voluntary social year with the Objektiv e.V. film training association in Dresden and even get to work with films on occasion as part of my tasks there, which give me a lot of pleasure. I love having exchanges with other creative people, which makes my being a member of the Youth Jury so appealing for me.

Youth Jury National Competition 2017

Viktoria Hofmann, 21

I love to let myself by surprised, carried away, persuaded, disappointed, horrified or edified by films. My interest in short film was aroused in the cinema, then strengthened during the first practical experience I gained at a media camp in Saxony, and has grown ever since. FILMFEST DRESDEN represents a great opportunity for me to expand my focus on short film and actively participate in the festival events and programmes, which I have only consumed to date. Right now, you are most likely to find me in the lecture halls of the TU Technical University Dresden attending seminars on German studies.


Khaled Al Saadi, 19

I have always had a great imagination, with my head constantly overflowing with stories. At some point I decided to pen these stories in the form of film ideas. And after a while, not only was I enjoying the writing, but even the storytelling, and I shot some short videos – resulting in my passion for film. A collection of tales by differing creative heads from throughout the world emerges through the multitude of short films being screened, which is exactly what makes my joy and pleasure with FILMFEST DRESDEN so great.


Jannis Roth, 17

Together with theatre acting, film is one of my passions. After I see a film, I examine and analyse it, subjecting it to a critical review. How did the actors perform? Was the film well adapted? Is it worth bothering with the screenplay? All of which generate verbal exchanges and discussions with other people, and FILMFEST DRESDEN provides the ideal platform for me to do so. I am looking forward to the highly diverse short film world, permitting me to look beyond the end of my nose and gain differing perspectives. There is no nicer feeling that being delighted by an accomplished film.

Die Juroren des FILMFEST DRESDEN

Das FILMFEST DRESDEN beruft jedes Jahr mehrere unabhängige Jurys, die über die Vergabe der Goldenen Reiter entscheiden, darunter die Internationale Jury und die Nationale Jury, die Jury für den Filmton sowie zwei Jugendjurys. Die Juroren des 28. FILMFEST DRESDEN finden Sie untenstehend.

Internationale Jury

Yasmeen Fanari

wurde 1981 in Kuwait geboren. Sie arbeitet als visuelle Künstlerin im Bereich Illustration und Animation. 2004 machte sie an der Universität Damaskus ihren Abschluss in Bildender Kunst. 2009 setzte sie ihr Studium an der Kingston University London fort und machte dort 2010 ihren Master in Illustration und Animation. Im September 2011 verließ sie Syrien endgültig und zog nach Frankreich. Sie ist Teilhaberin von Hecat Studio, eines VFX-/Animations-Studios in Paris.


Denis Coté

wurde 1973 in New Brunswick, Kanada, geboren. Zwischen 1995 und 2005 drehte und produzierte er 15 Independent-Kurzfilme und arbeitete gleichzeitig als Journalist und Filmkritiker. Sein erster Spielfilm, LES ÉTATS NORDIQUES (DRIFTING STATES), gewann 2005 den Goldenen Leoparden im Video-Wettbewerb des Internationalen Filmfestivals von Locarno. Seitdem touren seine preisgekrönten Werke durch die Festival-Lande. VIC+FLO SAW A BEAR gewann bei der Berlinale 2013 den Alfred-Bauer-Preis (Silberner Bär).


Peter van Hoof

ist zuständig fürs Kurzfilmprogramm des International Film Festival Rotterdam, für das er auch die Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme aus den afrikanischen Ländern südlich der Sahara aussucht. Er war unabhängiger Programmchef beim Squat Cinema Filmhuis Cavia und dann  Gründer und Programmchef des Cinema De Balie - der Independentfilm-Abteilung im politischen Kulturzentrum De Balie in Amsterdam. Gemeinsam mit anderen gründete er Stichting De Filmbank, eine Organisation, die den niederländischen Experimentalfilm fördert. Für das Festival Into The Great Wide Open kuratiert er die Film- und Kunstsektion.


Nationale Jury

Lola Randl

wurde 1980 in München geboren. Sie macht fiktionale sowie dokumentarische Filme, persönliche und solche mit wachem Blick fürs Soziale. So spielen die zwei Staffeln ihrer Serie LANDSCHWÄRMER im eigenen Wohnzimmer bzw. Dorf in der Uckermark – wo das Private ohnehin infrage oder zumindest unter Beobachtung steht. In ihren Ausbildungsjahren von 2001 bis 2006 an der Kunsthochschule für Medien in Köln und der Drehbuchwerkstatt München realisierte sie mehrere Kurzfilme. Ihr Spielfilmdebüt gab sie 2008 mit DIE BESUCHERIN auf der Berlinale. Ein Einschnitt: Der Spielfilm DIE ERFINDUNG DER LIEBE (2013). Den Tod der Hauptdarstellerin Maria Kwiatkowsky während der Dreharbeiten integrierte Randl in das Drehbuch, wiederum Reales und Fiktion mischend. Ihr vierter Kinofilm FÜHLEN SIE SICH MANCHMAL AUSGEBRANNT UND LEER? erscheint im Sommer 2017.


Anna Wollner

wurde 1983 in Bonn geboren und war mit fünf das erste Mal im Kino. Es hat sie schon immer ins Dunkel des Kinosaals gezogen. Der familiär bedingte Umzug von Bonn nach Potsdam Babelsberg - direkt neben die Traumfabrik der Filmstudios - hat sein Übriges getan. Mit 15 hat sie das erste Mal die Schule geschwänzt, um zu den Studentenkurzfilmtagen „Sehsüchte“ zu gehen, mit 17 folgte das erste Praktikum beim Film. Während des Studiums der Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft und der Theaterwissenschaft hat sie erst in einem Leipziger Programmkino, dann bei Mephisto 97.6, dem Hochschulradio der Uni Leipzig, gearbeitet – in der Kinoredaktion. Sie lebt in Berlin und arbeitet als freie Filmkritikerin.


Max Hattler

arbeitet primär mit abstrakter Animation, Video-Installation und audiovisueller Performance. Seine Werke erforschen Beziehungen zwischen Abstraktion und Figuration, Ästhetik und Politik, Ton und Bild, Präzision und Improvisation. Er hat einen BA in Medien und Kommunikation vom Goldsmiths und einen MA in Animation vom Royal College of Art. An der University of East London hat er in Kunst promoviert. Seine Arbeiten wurden schon weltweit in Museen und Galerien gezeigt, er hat Auszeichnungen beim Third Culture Film Festival und beim Bradford Animation Festival gewonnen sowie verschiedene Preise für visuelle Musik. Er hat weltweit Live-Performances gegeben und war Jury-Mitglied bei über 25 Festivals. Er ist Dozent an der School of Creative Media an der City University Hong Kong.


Filmton-Jury

Anna Scholz, aka Annamateur

geboren 1977 in Dresden, studierte Musik, hätte sich aber lieber für Grafik oder Schauspiel beworben. Seit 2003 tourt sie mit ihrer Formation „Anna Mateur and the Beuys" im deutschsprachigen Raum. Dafür gab es unter anderen den Deutschen Kleinkunstpreis, den Salzburger Stier und den Bayerischen Kabarettpreis. Sie schreibt Bühnenprogramme, Songtexte und Radiokolumnen, zeichnet ihre Geschichten live auf Folien, Haut, Tische und Wände. Ihre Leidenschaft gilt Systemen zwischen Ordnung und Chaos. 2015 veröffentlichte sie mit dem „Wehwehchenatlas“ ihr erstes Buch. Wenn sie nicht mit ihrem aktuellen Programm „Protokoll einer Disko” unterwegs ist, lebt und spinnt sie im Tal unter Ahnungslosen.


Robert Seidel

lebt in Berlin als Künstler und Kurator. Seine Projektionen, Installationen und Experimentalfilme wurden auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals, in Galerien und in Museen wie dem Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe, dem Art Center Nabi Seoul, dem Museum of Image and Sound São Paulo und dem Museum of Contemporary Art Taipeh gezeigt. In seinen Arbeiten untersucht er die Grenzen von abstrahierter Schönheit durch visuelle sowie wissenschaftliche Techniken. Um die Möglichkeiten des experimentellen Bewegtbildes aufzuzeigen, kuratierte er Filmprogramme und Ausstellungen, unter anderem für das Filmmuseum Wien, das Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel, die Kunstsammlung Jena und das Künstlerhaus Bethanien in Berlin.

Johannes Gerstengarbe und Frank Hellwig

sind in den Ballroom Studios Dresden tätig, in denen Musik-, Video- sowie Fotoproduktionen realisiert werden. Das neueste Projekt ist das Gesprächsformat Ballroom Talk. Johannes Gerstengarbe studierte in Dresden und Nashville
und ist als Dozent für Arrangement und Theorie an der Dresdner Musikhochschule tätig. Er spielt Gitarre und hat
sich als Produzent profiliert, unter anderem mit Musik für Kurzfilme. Frank Hellwig studierte an der TU Dresden. Er
ist Kreativquelle in verschiedenen Künsten, Unternehmer, Softwareentwickler und Ingenieur. Er realisiert Medienkunstprojekte, beschäftigt sich mit elektronischer Klangerzeugung, Zeichnung und Fotografie und ist Musiker.


Jugendjury Internationaler Wettbewerb

Janek Wuigk, 17

Ich kann mir kaum einen Ort vorstellen, an welchem mehr junge, neue, einzigartige Ideen zu finden sind als beim FILMFEST DRESDEN. Die Filmemacher mit ihrem Mut, Einsatz und ihrer Freude an der Sache sind mir ein Vorbild. Seit der 8. Klasse etwa produziere ich Videos und Filme. Ich benutze sie auch, um mich für Menschenrechte einzusetzen, da ich glaube, dass der Film eine Macht wie kein anderes Medium hat. Der Film erreicht den Menschen auf eine, mit Blick auf andere Medien, unvergleichbare Art und Weise, weswegen es mir eine spannende und ehrenvolle Aufgabe ist, Mitglied der Jugendjury zu sein


Raphael Kempe, 21

Es sind Tage des intensivsten kulturellen und kreativen Austausches, die jedes Jahr im April hier in Dresden stattfinden. Menschen aus den verschiedensten Teilen der Welt kommen in diese Stadt, um in ihrer kreativen Sprache, dem Kurzfilm, zu Unterhalten und zum Nachdenken anzuregen. Als großer Filmliebhaber und Freund des Kurzfilms freue ich mich sehr, Teil dieses Austausches sein zu dürfen. Ich bin sehr gespannt darauf, neue Perspektiven eröffnet zu bekommen und gleichzeitig als Teil der Jugendjury ebenfalls etwas zu einem gelungenen Filmfest beizutragen, welches so eine immense Bereicherung für diese Stadt ist.


Lisa Tschöp-Mayer, 19

Meine Begeisterung für Filme begann schon vor einigen Jahren. Ich genoss es, in eine andere Welt einzutauchen und danach über die Filme nachzudenken - und das tue ich bis heute. Momentan mache ich ein FSJ Kultur beim Objektiv e. V. in Dresden und arbeite durch meine Aufgaben bereits ein bisschen mit Filmen, was mir viel Freude bereitet. Ich tausche mich gern mit anderen kreativen Menschen aus und das macht die Teilnahme an der Jugendjury des FILMFEST DRESDEN so reizvoll für mich.


Jugendjury Nationaler Wettbewerb

Viktoria Hofmann, 21

Ich liebe es, mich von Filmen überraschen, mitreißen, überzeugen, enttäuschen, erschrecken oder belehren zu lassen. Mein Interesse an Kurzfilmen wurde im Kino geweckt, hat sich durch meine praktischen Erfahrungen im Sächsischen Mediencamp gefestigt und ist seitdem weiter gewachsen. Das FILMFEST DRESDEN ist eine große Chance für mich, meinen Blickwinkel auf den Kurzfilm zu erweitern und am Festivalgeschehen, das ich bisher nur konsumiert habe, aktiv teilzunehmen. Zurzeit findet man mich am häufigsten in den Hörsälen der TU Dresden bei Germanistik-Vorlesungen.


Khaled Al Saadi, 19

Fantasievoll war ich schon immer, mein Kopf war ständig mit Geschichten überfüllt. Irgendwann entschied ich mich dazu, diese Geschichten in Form von Filmideen festzuhalten. Nach einer Weile fand ich nicht nur Gefallen am Schreiben, sondern auch am Erzählen, und drehte kurze Videos - so entstand meine Leidenschaft zum Filmen. Durch die Vielzahl an Kurzfilmen entsteht eine Ansammlung von Erzählungen von verschiedenen Kreativschaffenden aus aller Welt, und genau das lässt meine Freude auf das FILMFEST DRESDEN groß werden.


Jannis Roth, 17

Neben Theater spielen gehören Filme zu meinen Leidenschaften. Ich setze mich nach dem Schauen damit auseinander und stehe dem kritisch gegenüber. Wie haben die Schauspieler agiert? Wurde der Film gut inszeniert? Kann man sich das Drehbuch antun? So kommt es auch zum Schlagabtausch und Diskussionen mit anderen, wofür mir das FILMFEST DRESDEN die ideale Plattform gibt. Ich freue mich auf die breit gefächerte Kurzfilmwelt, um einen Blick über den Tellerrand zu wagen und verschiedene Perspektiven einzunehmen. Es gibt kein schöneres Gefühl, als sich über einen gelungenen Film zu freuen.